Mr. Neil Pryde has released the following message regarding his support for kitesurfing as an Olympic event:

MARCH 14, 2011

Mr. Neil Pryde withdraws endorsement of Olympic kitesurfing

Mr. Neil Pryde has released the following message regarding his support for kitesurfing as an Olympic event:

"I have been acting as an Ambassador for the IKA in order to assist Kitesurfing in its objective to attain Olympic Event status.

I have now withdrawn my endorsement of the IKA Campaign because it is my view that Kitesurfing has not yet developed the rules of competition and disciplines that must be demonstrated to qualify Kitesurfing as an Olympic Event.

As the Managing Director of Neil Pryde Limited, the owner of Cabrinha, a world leader in Kitesurfing I remain a strong supporter of Kitesurfing and I believe that the sport will continue to grow and develop as a lifestyle / adventure sport. Kitesurfing offers tremendous opportunities to combine sport and travel and there is no doubt that it is  an exciting action sport that ultimately could obtain Olympic status.

However it is important to look at Kitesurfing today and understand the limitations of the sport within the requirements of an Olympic Event.

I would support the inclusion of Kitesurfing as a Demonstration Event at the 2016 Olympic Games if this is feasible. 

NEIL PRYDE
Managing Director
NEIL PRYDE LIMITED"